Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Identifying Type of Minenwerfer

veriste

All,

I would really appreciate help narrowing down the type of ordnance used to injure some infantry members in an old French medical thesis I found. I am a PhD student researching shell shock, and I would really like to include these cases in my study but can't unless I can narrow down the charge types so that I can make a reasonable estimate of the blast strength.

The words consistently used in the thesis are "crapouillot" and "torpille," which both seem to refer to German Minenwerfer shells. Based on the injury dates (April-October 1915), it seems reasonable that these men were hit with either the 25 cm or 17 cm versions, but I don't have any leads on how to narrow it down further by shell type. The details on the cases that I have pieced together so far:

- April 28: charge type was a crapouillot, patient was a member of the 113th infantry (all cases French)

- April 18: crapouillot, 89th infantry

- June 18: crapouillot, 141st infantry

- June 22: crapouillot, 91st infantry

- May 21: crapouillot, service info unknown

- Nov 4: crapouillot, 31st infantry

- May 11: crapouillot, 5th colonial infantry

- May 8: crapouillot, 6th colonial infantry

- May 16: crapouillot, 46th infantry

- June 26: crapouillot, 131st infantry

- July 21: crapouillot, 76th infantry

- July 12: torpille, 131st infantry

- July 3: crapouillot, 4th infantry

- Sept 28: shell, unknown weight, 4th infantry

- Oct 22: crapouillot, 113th infantry

- Oct 12: torpille, 31st infantry

I am also trying to find a French-language forum to ask the same question, but my French is very choppy and the people on this forum were incredibly helpful in helping me find an old ship identification a few months ago. Again, any help or direction is appreciated!