Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Yet another SMLE identification query

RobJones

Hi All, I have recently acquired a 1913 Mk III SMLE and was wondering if anyone might be able to identify the regiment on the brass butt disc. I tried finding it through other threads but not had any luck. The stamping looks much better than other examples I've seen so I'm wondering whether it may be a more modern addition.post-110646-0-13204900-1400779271_thumb.

Hi Rob,

Welcome to the forum. I am no expert on rifles, but look forward to seeing how quickly your question is answered!

Chris

I thought anti aircraft regiment but didnt know if that made sense :-)

Just read up on it and it does call the, 51 AA Regt so I guess that fits then. Its a WW2 regiment though so presumably the rifle was re-issued after WW1 which is why the stampings on the disc are so clear.

Its a shame its not the original disc though, would love to know where the rifle has been.

Look for any rework markings on the left side of the wrist, that sometimes tells a tale. Also lift the rear top handguard off (carefully!) and see what the barrel markings are.

Post them here and Chris or I will endevour to help.

Regards

Tonye

Thanks for all your help so far folks. Havent risked taking anything apart yet lol but this info seems useful, any ideas what all this means?post-110646-0-84791100-1400786066_thumb.

Some Searchlight Regiments R.E. became R.A. A.A. Regiments.

Michael

1934 and 1936 FTRs (years by safety)

U is common bolt head mark indicating "difference in specification"

The XSAW is a puzzler - new one to me

Is the rifle a MkIII* or has the * been lined out?

Now the puzzler -- could we see a picture of the wrist of the rifle?

I can't work out who the manufacturer would be... according to my notes

Enfield used A,B,C,E in 1913

BSA used V,W

LSA used L (close so possible if it is an LSA rifle)

Is it possible it is a weakly struck 8 (so 1918 not 1913)?