Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

'das Gewehr des Schreibers'

trajan

A German military text I am studying mentions 'das Gewehr des Schreibers', which literally means ( I think!), 'the rifle of the writers'... I assume it is not some form of rifle disguised as a super-large pencil... Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance for any leads on this!

Trajan

Artists' Rifles? :D

More likely the writer's own rifle... 'des' is the singular possessive.

Regards,

MikB

There used to be a family of gun-smiths in Wurzburg called the Schreibers (whose guns are now collectors items) possibly a rifle made by one of them?

The context

Artists' Rifles? :D

More likely the writer's own rifle... 'des' is the singular possessive.

Regards,

MikB

Nice one Mike! :thumbsup:

My mistake there - I just re-checked the text and it is 'des', The context is the weapons allocated to a headquarters staff, and so I am thinking that the clerks shared a single rifle between them?

Julian

EDIT@ scribe out

Oh, just found a 1909 listing of the officers and ncos' of the Infanterie-Regiment Vogel von Falckenstein (7. Westfälisches) Nr. 56, and this lists - among others - the following:

• Regiments-Schreiber: Feldwebel Wöhrmann
  • I. Bataillon: Bataillons-Schreiber: Vizefeldwebel Ehlebracht
  • II. Bataillon: Bataillons-Schreiber: Vizefeldwebel Beikirch
  • III. Bataillon: Bataillons-Schreiber: Vizefeldwebel

So, perhaps what it really means is that the Headquarter's staff has its own 'Hauptquartier-Schreiber' who has his own personal rifle, his assistants having their regular weapons?

It just translates as 'the writer's rifle'. So if 'Writer' was a post at several levels, it could be any of those - depending on the level of the HQ in context - or in other contexts, whoever happened to be writing the text.

Regards,

MikB

Can you give us the sentence it occurs in, Julian. And perhaps, for good measure, the sentences before and after.