Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

assafx

During my research of the fighting in Nebi Samwil, I found a fuze http://1914-1918.invisionzone.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=206966&hl= (the second one on the post)

I was able to ID it as Dopple Zunder 43 sec, a naval gun fuze (see page 160).

Up to this point, I did not pay any attention to the question of what was the artillery equipment used by the Turks or the German Expeditionary force in Palestine?

Looking for material in libraries in here (Israel), I found nothing, a search on the internet ended with a similar result.

so my first question is, if anybody know of a source that can shed a light on that matter?

searching through three different sources of photographs, for any cannon which is not Krupp 75mm, 77mm or a 10.5 howitzer.

I was able to find a few cannons that raised my curiosity and since i'm not a big expert on the subject i will need some help identifying them.

1. a mountain gun (source: mason collection, Library of congress) the scan is good and the tiff file is quite large. another photograph with mountain guns (same type?) was found in the Australian war memorial.

2. this battery is much more relevant to my thesis because of it's location, here's another look (same source as #1). could it be 8.7 cm krupp c80?

3. and now to the big naval gun, i found a few photographs of the same gun/s: a) 1st IWM photograph, 2nd, 1st Australian war memorial, 2nd, 3rd, 4th (not sure it's the same gun).

4. at first look they seems to be french 75mm but i'm just guessing here: LOC, 2nd LOC and IWM.

5. I also found this gun which i believe is a 75mm Ehrhardt gebirskanone m.14.

this reminds me, that I don't know a thing about the Austrian artillery units in palestine :)

Thank You

Assaf

Edited by Assaf

Hi,