Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Rare trench map

connaughtranger

This looks like a 'How long is a piece of string' type question.... So, one that's still red inside? :whistle:

I'm no expert on these but I know the more detailed maps - 1 in 5 or 10,000 are the most expensive to buy especially if they show detailed trench systems. I have a batch of a dozen or so on which a Battery sergeant has marked his units positions which I guess makes them rather rare.

...I have a batch of a dozen or so on which a Battery sergeant has marked his units positions which I guess makes them rather rare.

OK, seriously - are those originals? If so, I hope you have given copies to the appropriate regimental museums? I sometimes take archaeological tours to Tunisia, and I always make a stop at Longstop Hill to talk about the action there before going to the cemetery - all of helped enormously by a copy of an action-dated map for the battle supplied by the A&S Museum.

Trajan

OK, seriously - are those originals? If so, I hope you have given copies to the appropriate regimental museums? I sometimes take archaeological tours to Tunisia, and I always make a stop at Longstop Hill to talk about the action there before going to the cemetery - all of helped enormously by a copy of an action-dated map for the battle supplied by the A&S Museum.

Trajan

Good idea. I'll dig them out & let them know.

as suggested above, 1/5000 and 1/10000 plus "secret editions" are I would suggest the rarest/most collectable, I have about 100 trench maps and I now do not buy anything unless it is "unusual" also the earlier maps, 1915 and early 1916 always interest me, the maps that seem to attract the most bids seem to be anything to do with the "Somme" and "Messines/Vimy Ridge".

Several years ago I did purchase 5 maps {1/10000} for the battle of Loos which I was very pleased with!