Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Grandads service in India 1920-21

david west

Not exactly a Great War question but i was wondering why my Grandfather recieved no medal for his service in India from 24th March 1920 to 22nd May 1921. Grandad was serving with the Machine Gun Corps at the time, possibly 8th Btn ( he was also in Russia from 16th August 1919 to 3rd October 1919 with the MGC). I remember vaguely, my father talking about the North West Frontier...Waziristan ? Funny that he never recieved a medal for these 2 conflicts !? What do the experts think ?

Hi,

I'm no expert but ...

Not all British soldiers in "India" - modern day I would include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and I think Burma & Sri Lanka were involved in the NWF conflict - many were in garrisons. My own grandfather was in an Artillery Brigade garrisoned in Central India for most of 1920.

Did your father say his Dad was a participant in the conflict?

If he did you could post his name etc and ask a forum member to look up the medal roll.

Steve Y

There was a specific date and geographic requirement for a clasp for the India General Service Medal

http://www.northeastmedals.co.uk/britishguide/india_general_service_1908_award.htm. North East Medals Guide

WAZIRISTAN 1919-21

All officers and men of the Waziristan Force who took part in the operations on the Bannu Line between 1st October, 1919 and 27th November, 1919, both dates inclusive, and the Tank Line between 1st October, 1919 and 20th December, 1921, both dates inclusive, or who served west of Kharkon Algad, between 27th November, 1921 and 16th December, 1921, both dates inclusive; and to troops which occupied the lower Zhob Posts (Brunj Safi, Mir Ali Khel, and Mogul Kot), between 12th November, 1920 and 31st May, 1921, both dates inclusive.

The boundary between the Bannu and Tank lines was:—