Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Passchendaele

Guest lordbest

Guest lordbest

I am an A-level student doing an individual project about Passchendaele and would welcome your views as to whether the battle was a 'futile slaughter' or not. Many thanks

Futile slaughter:-

Item to consider when debating this statement:-

Attrition as a strategy (there is an ongoing thread on Haig's overall strategy with this sub-heading on the forum. It is posted in regularly. Do a search for those keywords and you will find many views and opinions which might be helpful).

des

I am an A-level student doing an individual project about Passchendaele and would welcome your views as to whether the battle was a 'futile slaughter' or not. Many thanks

Please help us out a bit. What sort of contribution are you looking for from the 4000+ members of the Forum?

If the input is to be in some form of statisitical analysis, then you can set up a poll. This will give you some interesting and, no doubt, very subjective views from a lot of people of have differing interests in WW1.

If, on the other hand, you are expecting that this large group of people will give you sufficient differing views so that you can "cherry pick" comments into your project (effectively having us do your work for you), then you may well be disappointed. You may well find that you gain a better insight into the several months of battle by reading one of the many books available (for a beginner, I'd recommend Lyn McDonald). Of course, I am not suggesting you have such motive.

By way of further advice, my experience is that you will find members much more forthcoming if you are able to ask more, rather than less, specific questions.