Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Officer 8Bn London Post Office Rifles grave found in Aust

Derit

I hope this is in the correct area, mods please excuse a newbie and move it to wherever it should be.

I am a research journalist working on the Australian commemmoration of ANZAC in 2015. As part of this effort we are physically visiting every possible burial or cremation site outside the capitol cities in an attempt to find forgotton WW1 Diggers.

This is proceeding and a monograph of each is being written for provision to the various local authorities to be used in their local ceremones.

The point of this post is that I have recently come across a somewhat isolated grave with a simple decaying headstone reading;

Lieutenant James Gill

Died 11-6-1943

8Bn

The London Post Office Rifles

I understand that The LPOR amalgamated units after WW1 to the 8Bn

No further information is available in local (North West Queensland) records apart from a folio note regarding the burial. It was wartime and records were seldom fully kept.

I post this in case any family or other researchers are interested and also to save the Officers memory being lost.

Photos of the site are available and I can provide them if requested.

My colleagues and I will (after the wet season passes) tidy up the grave site and add an additional marker. If anybody here has any additional information they could add to the Officers details I would be most grateful.

I salute Lt. James Gill for his service.

Interesting chap!
Assuming I've found the correct medal index card, it indicates he initially served with the Canadian Pioneer Bn before being commissioned into 8th Londons. He claimed his medals from addresses in New Zealand (Kaitaia and Te Kao, North Auckland).
Details from his Canadian Army attestation: