Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

19th DLI MM citation help please

garfyboy

Hi Folks

I am looking up one L/CPL WILLIAM CRANNEY - 18803 19th DLI (PALS)

William was awarded the MM and i would love to know where and when, i have tried the london gazette and couldnt find anything allthough i am a novice on there and maybe wasnt looking in the right place.

William was KIA 1st oct 1918

cheers

Andy

his MM is in the supplement to the london gazette page 2117 11th feb 1919.

i think the only way of finding information on how it was won is by checking the war diaries for the 19th DLI.

wow, thanks Graeme, your a star and im chuffed to bits with the detail, i must buy the book (and do the lottery)

Yes i did purchase the scroll on ebay along with another to his brother in a identical frame, lovely set but i didnt pay the silly money he was asking

ps: if i win the lottery ill buy you a beer :blink:

It's a shame page 257, covering the day he was killed, isn't in the preview Graeme posted (I would have liked to read it myself).

The 19th DLI war diary is quite brief for the 1st October:

"GHELUWE SWITCH

Attacked the GHELUWE SWITCH, but only advanced about 200 yards. Held up by strong line of pill boxes, entanglements and heavy machine gun fire. Relieved by 17th Lancashire Fusiliers and moved into support under very heavy bombardment."

The battalion was advancing SE down from America Cabaret towards Reeke.

Phil

Andy,

More from the war diary:

12th September

Battalion relieved 17th Lancashire Fusiliers in left sub sector of CANAL SECTOR. Relief completed without incident. Situation quiet.

13th September