Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Army Service Corps MT units

Soozi-Bee

Hello,

This is my first ever post so please bear with me........

I have been tracing my family history for the last eight years, & feel pretty confident that I know what I am doing. However, the one fly in the ointment has been trying to find details about my paternal grandfather, Frank Robertson! The only definite piece of info that I have is his date of death - 2nd January 1946,aged 64. Other info gleaned from birth & death certs of his children show that during WW1 he was a private in the A.S.C MT unit, & he was a motor mechanic. I have a service number which appears on a death certificate from April 1918, which isn't too clear, but seems to read as " Pte MT 1 - 07111." Does this make sense to anyone, please? Also, at this time he was resident in Southport with my grandmother & 2 children, the youngest of whom had been born in Southport in December 1917. Grandad , Grandma,& all their other children were born in London. Would anyone know if there was a ASC unit based in Southport for any reason at that time.

Also,if the service number I have quoted is correct, does anyone know where I could find further details. I need a date of birth at least so that I can proceed with my research. I haven't been able to find a marriage record for Grandad & Grandma either, so must assume they weren't married, so I have no father's name to fall back on either.

Sorry to ramble on but I'm running out of places to look! :wacko: Can anyone help,please??

Many thanks

Soozi-Bee

Ancestry should hold a medal card for him. A search for his grave on CWGC website should help you confirm you have the correct service number to search for the medal card on the Ancestry website. Long, long trail link here for the ASC http://www.1914-1918.net/asc.htm

Edit: Ancestry might also have a roll of honour entry and a service record for him - if it survived.

I hope this helps.