Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

6th Green Howards in Russia

notimetoulouse

Hi everyone - I'm new to the forums here and so please excuse me if I unknowingly breach etiquette.

As an ex career soldier, I decided to research my maternal grandfathers WW1 service to create a family memoir. Luckily his record survived the Blitz record fire and was available on Ancestry.

I was amazed when I saw his conduct sheets - my little, quiet pipe smoking grandfather had 5 DCM's, 1 GCM, numerous No1 and No2 Field Punishments, 180 days hard labour for shamefully casting away, an attempt to break out from his troopship and a discharge character reference as 'Bad'!

He originally joined 2/5 Lancashire Fusiliers from the Derby Scheme in late 1915 and was transferred to the 6th Green Howards for the Russian Intervention in late 1918.

Reeling from all this, I went down to Kew, and on physically checking his records found that after the fire in WW2 his sheets have been mixed up with a C.H. Eggett who was a Northumberland Fusilier, transferred to three different units throughout the war.

My own grandfather had only one court martial, for loss of eating equipment and rifle cleaning kit, because he refused his OC's punishment and elected for CM.

He recieved a GSW through and through to the face on the morning of Third Ypres outside Wieltje, and spent 8 months recovering in Norwich and Manchester.

Phew - I really was shocked at first!

Back on thick ice, I am trying to touch base with an expert on the Russian Intervention here on the Forum, as I have most of his LF background courtesy of the Bury Museum, but the GH Museum is closed for refurbishment until 1915.

I know he took part in a quite well known night battle with the red army at Bolshie Ozerki, (it was the only thing he ever shared with me) but it's the basics of why he was attached to the Syren Force in the first place that I need guidance on.