Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Kings Own Yorkshire Light Infantry Photo 1918

Malc Knowles

This is a picture of my Grandfather Eric George Taylor . The one marked with an X (He did it !)

He joined up at the very end of the war on the 28th June 1918. His records are online but are not very informative. I believe he did go to France at some stage but I don't think he was involved in any fighting.

I hope this may be of use to others. Does anyone recognise anybody ?

Regards

Malc Knowles

post-102783-0-94456400-1383477531_thumb.

There is a faint suggestion of a Battalion on one or two of the service papers,2/5 KOYLI of the 62nd Division ?

Thank you for taking the time to look at this for me.

I did see that reference but couldnt work it out as I have not seen any references like that before ( I am a complete novice at this game )

Is there a record of what they were doing during the latter stages of the war ?

Thanks again

Malc

Malc

Now a bit clearer having had time to look at all pages.

Your subject started in 53 (Young Soldier) Battalion Training Reserve and then transferred to 51 Battalion,both in the UK. During 1918 he was posted to 5 Battalion KOYLI which was in France as part of 187 Brigade of 62 Division,here he got his KOYLI service number of 72220. He went into 1919 with this Battalion and,whilst still with the same Brigade/Division,transferred to 2/4 Battalion.

62 Division has a page in the Long Long Trail which will signpost what they did:

http://www.1914-1918.bet/62div.htm