Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

r.f.a attd 155 bde help

rupedenby

help I am new to this my grandfather was with the above unit I am not even sure the full title of the brigade he was awarded the military medal during ww1 wondered if anyone could enlighten me to any history on him or any interesting info . ,he was also a flying officer during ww2 in the raf was this usual?

Charles Percival Denby, M.C. has a medal card on the Ancestry website which states that he was an officer, holding the rank of Lieutenant and later Captain whilst serving in France & Flanders, which he did from 27th December 1915. His address is given as Low Mills, Boston Spa when he applied for his medals in 1922.

As an officer he would have been entitled to the Military Cross rather than the Military Medal.

His Military Cross was a New Year Honour of 1 January 1919 which shows him as: "T./Capt. Charles Percival Denby, R.F.A., attd. 155th Bde., Ammn. Col., R.F.A."

http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/31092/supplements/25

His unit being the Ammunition Column of the 155th Artillery Brigade, Royal Field Artillery.

The 155th Artillery Brigade was part of 32nd Division until January 1917 when it was transferred from Divisional to Army Command.

http://www.1914-1918.net/32div.htm

Steve.

It was not unusual to see officers from the First World War in training roles in the Second World War, and common for Army Officers to go to either Army or RAF roles.

Some of his dates of promotion can be gleaned from the London Gazette:

London Gazette 12-4-1915

ROYAL REGIMENT OF ARTILLERY.
Royal Horse and Royal Field Artillery.
The undermentioned to be temporary Second Lieutenants: —
Dated 2nd April, 1915.
Robert Peel Nuttall.
James William Widdup.
Walter Brumwell.
William Henry Bloor.
John Harold Gibbons.
Charles Percival Denby

http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/29125/supplements/3564/

London Gazette 14-9-1915