Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

P1907 hookies

jscott

Hi all

I've been collecting bayonets for around 3 or 4 years now, and have been absolutely astonished to see how much P1907 hooked quillon bayonets have increasd in price in that short period of time. From what I'm seeing now - they are almost always £600-£1000 (and some of the rarer makers, ie Lithgow and Mole many times that much). Some of the old reference books I have show their price as being approximately equivalent (for example) to that of a sawback 98/05 bayonet, and yet now they appear to be routinely selling for 3-4 times that much.

They are clearly not rare, and in fact they do not even appear to be particularly scarce. If money were no object I think I could purchase 20 of them online straight away. And I'm not sure I follow the historical significance either given a hooked quillon removed bayonet was far more likely to have seen service. I would love to add a hookie to my collection (just to tick that box) but unless something dramatic happens (or I get very lucky at an antique shop!) I just dont think it will ever happen.

Any thoughts on why these bayonets are so popular would be much appreciated.

Cheers, J

Jonathan, thought this thread might be a touch easier to read in a larger font so have modified your post below. Hope you don't mind. Cheers, S>S

Hi all

I've been collecting bayonets for around 3 or 4 years now, and have been absolutely astonished to see how much P1907 hooked quillon bayonets have increasd in price in that short period of time. From what I'm seeing now - they are almost always £600-£1000 (and some of the rarer makers, ie Lithgow and Mole many times that much). Some of the old reference books I have show their price as being approximately equivalent (for example) to that of a sawback 98/05 bayonet, and yet now they appear to be routinely selling for 3-4 times that much.