Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with Great Grandfather

maisie76

Hi I am new to all this and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I am looking for any information on my Great Grandfathers time in the Army. He was Robert Williamson Wyllie born 23 March 1889 but he had moved to Ayr by 1891 so I assume he joined at Ayr, on the 1911 census he is in England with the 1st Royal Scots Fusiliers and listed as a signaller, on his marriage certificate from feb 1915 he is listed as private in 1st Battalion Royal Scots Fusiliers. I have looked on ancestry and there are 3 possible matches in the medal index card but how would I confirm which one is his? Maisie

I think I can agree there's three there with regular army service numbers:

Robert Wylie, 9811 and Robert Wyllie, 7137 both went overseas with the battalion on 14 August 1914 and he is probably one of these two.

The other possibility is that he was known in the army as William Wyllie and is the man with a service number of 7239. He did go overseas on 14/8/14 with 1/RSF. However he was a sergeant which doesnt tie in with the marriage certificate.

These three are the only likely men,with four-digit regular army numbers. I'm no expert on RSF numbers but I'd have thought that 9811 may be to high a number for a man who had joined up prior to 1911. My best guess, and I stress it can only be a guess, is that he was most likely to have been 7137 - it's probable that you may never know for sure.

Obviously he was back in the UK by February 1915, so that might indicate he had been wounded or returned home sick. It may be worth looking in the local newspapers for wherever he lived. Perhaps also check the papers fro wherever he was married.

John

There's no Robert W Wyllie on the medal index cards but Robert Wyllie, 7137, is the only R Wyllie with a regular army service number.