Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Mystery date of death, Please Help.

David_Bluestein

The case of 2224 Dmr. Stanley George Watson

1/4th Cheshire Regt. Died of wounds received at Gallipoli, and buried at sea.

CWGC: Listed as Died on August 27th 1915 (Helles Memorial)

SDGW: Listed as Died at Sea August 27th 1915

From Original letter by brother Capt. H.M. Watson RE states:

“…H.M.T. Euripides was pressed into service as a hospital ship and on passage from Imbros to Alexandria Drummer S.G. Watson together with certain other gunshot wound casualties died of their wounds and were buried at sea, 19 August 1915.”

Log Book of the H.M.T. Euripides: “Drummer S.G. Watson shown as Died of wounds and buried at sea also the 19th August 1915.”

Magnificent Brass Plaque from local village church shows his date of death as: August 18, 1915.

Well there you have the mystery! I have been researching this soldier for many months, and have become more and more confused as I go. I have three possible dates of death. I was anxious to get thoughts from other forum members as to what date you believe? Or where do I go from here?

Much thanks in advance

David

I would be inclined to go for the log book of Euripides. It is an official legal document completed at the time. And therefore should be accurate.

The only thing that would alter that is if the entry had been made on completion of all business (ie after the burial). And therefore he may have died during the day/night before his burial. Thus died 18th, buried 19th, logged on completion 19th.

The word "also" may cast doubt, though.

The log is probably correct although the actual log should be viewed to be certain. Even though probably correct, the info is still second hand being quoted in a letter by a relative. We all know how n-o-k info can sometimes be wildly out!