Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

AIF Uniform ID

afightinglife

Hi all,

My avatar has a photo of my great grandfather that I'm trying to "date". I think if I know what rank he is then I can tell which battalion he was serving with at the time. I think I see a "pip" on his shoulder, so does that mean he is a 2nd Lt? I think the photo in the link below is from the same time, if not the same photo:

(sorry, too big to attach)

Complete novice on uniforms!

Cheers in advance,S.

Hard to say but probably correct-dress looks to be of an officer(shirt with tie, collar and Sam Brown belt with cross strap)- 2/Lt 1 'pip' or star-Lt 2, Captain 3- Then the next single shoulder insignia-a crown- Major. Regards, Paul.

Hi Summer,

Presumably taken between 8/8/16 and 5/4/17.

1/10/14 Sergeant (3 stripes on the arm);

14/3/16 CSM of 46th Bn (Company Sergeant Major, Warrant Officer Class II, a crown on the arm);

14/5/16 Acting RSM of 46th Bn (Regimental Sergeant Major, Warrant Officer Class I, a distinctive crown on the arm and the only person in the battalion with this rank);

08/08/16 Promoted Second Lieutenant (Receives King's Commission, hence earliest date possible for your photograph, as a 2nd LT wears a single pip and officers wore a Sam Browne belt);

05/04/17 Promoted Lieutenant (a LT has 2 pips, which your photograph appears to lack, hence latest possible date for your photograph).

31/01/19 Appointment in AIF terminated, rank Lieutenant.

Feel free to PM me with any other questions.

Thank you both for your helpful responses.

I now believe I can safely assume Jim was in the 46th battalion when the photo was taken. I don't know why, but before I started the thread I thought it was when he was in the 14th. I didn't take notice of the uniform obviously. As a non-military person it is easy to look without "seeing". Since I've joined GWF I've noticed I have improved my research skills and have learnt to look for the detail. :)