Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help wanted - Just starting out

Twonk1972

Hi all, just been reading some of the threads on here and i have to say some of you guys are mighty switched on to all this. I am just starting out and wondered if you could point me in the right direction on some things.

Anyway i shall get to my point.....

I was given as a child my Great uncles medals, cap badge, tunic button and a couple of badges that look to be some sort of release from service for wounds received badge (numbered). He served in the 2nd Battalion Royal Scottish Fusiliers according to one of his medals. Cpl C.Duffield it has a number on and i presume this is his Service number 8237. It is a bronze 1914 Star and has Aug to Nov on the front. It also has a tiny silver Rossette stitched into the ribbon at the top. I also have a pin that is in the shape of a drum and a cap badge with what looks to be a harp on it. His tunic button has a thistle and a wreath on. I also have a brass tin that has Christmas 1914 written on the front of it with a womans head embossed on the centre with what looks like M M either side of her? Photos attached.

I am going to get them all mounted in a frame and pass them on to my own children in time. Before i do this i wanted to try and get some background on his Regiment, actions etc and also perhaps look to getting hold of a service record if one exists. Where is the best place to look for all this info? Is there one site in particular that i can go to for a definate answer without all the faffing about so to speak?

I had two other relatives that were killed at Ypres and the Somme but have nothing of theirs unfortunately so i wanted to find out more about my Great Uncle so we had at least some record of the families efforts in the Great War.