Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Visit to Cologne

KIRKY

;) I am going for a visit to Cologne to an exhibition at the end of this month. Is there anything WW1 worth looking up? I have no knowledge of this area of conflict

Tony

I'm sure there must be more graves than these - I assume first three of these were occupation troops who died in flu epidemic? The bottom man may have been POW?

Des

COLOGNE SOUTHERN CEMETERY - Koln(Cologne), Nordrhein-Westfal

CAMPBELL, Rifleman, DAVID, 1663. 12th Bn. Royal Irish Rifles. 7th August 1919. Age 21. Son of Benja-min and Margaret Campbell, of Cottown, Donaghadee, Co. Down. IV. C. 3.

McDOWELL, Rifleman, T, 18276. 12th Bn. Royal Irish Rifles. 22nd October 1918. Age 24. Son of Mr. J. McDowell, of McKean's Row, Carrickfergus, Co. Antrim. V. A. 7.

SPENCE, Rifleman, W, 22351. 12th Bn. Royal Irish Rifles. 1st April 1919. IX. F. 19.

WEIR, Second Lieutenant, HARRY LEEBODY, 12th Bn. Royal Irish Rifles. Died of pneumonia 28th October 1918. Age 30. Son of William D. and Jane Weir, of Pickie Rock House, Bangor, Co. Down. VII. C. 27.

Hi there

Köln cathedral has a beautiful wooden sculpture inside, about halfway down on the left-handside, commemorating those from Köln who fell.

Also there is a huge CWGC in the main cemetery. It is relatively easy to get to. I think I have my ticket still at home so will look up the number for you. Although you cannot go direct from Hauptbahnhof to the cemetery, you will need to change.

The cemetery has British ww1, and occupation, some ww2 and also up until the early 1960s from memory. THere is also a huge German cemetery for bothe world wars.

So plenty to see and do!!!

All the best and have a good trip,

Tim

• 1 year later...

I'm going to Cologne ove the weekend of 21 / 22 Jan and will definitely visit the Cathedral and the CWGC cemetery.

Anything else WW1 or WW2 related I should see?

Charles

Charles/Kirky