Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medical checks at Recruitment (establishment of medical boards)

MJROB

Hi Everyone, I am a PhD student at the University of Liverpool and my thesis revolves around the issue of shell-shock. I was wondering whether any members had any advice on information/reading material on how troops were checked for 'mental/neurological issues' at recruitment and how stringent these checks were? More specifically, has anyone any advice on how the establishment of medical boards towards the end of the war effected these issues? MJROB

Jonathan, do you have a copy of MacPherson's "Medical Services General History" ?

Can you tell me if this excerpt from the Attestation Papers of Persons Enlisting for Service Abroad with the Australian Imperial Force describes a Medical Examination which was the same as in Britain?

Thank you for any help you can offer,

Regards

CGM

Page4of49C_zpse4303f83.jpg

Odd that D and BC branding are noted. It was abolished in 1879. If branded at 18 in 1879, you would be 53 in 1914. Bit old to soldier on as a bad boy! I believe the practice stopped prior to 1879 so would any man be branded in 1914 that would be fit to fight.

Corporal punishment is understandable. Flogging/birching was not abolished until after the war. Another sign of a bad lad.

I would suggest that the reference could have been removed from the Medical Examination entry on the form but no-one had taken the responsibility to do this.

It would just about have been possible for a recruit who had been marked in 1879 to attempt to enlist.

I have seen the records of a man who lied about his age and gave his date of birth as Jan 7th 1872 when he was actually born in 1Q 1861. He served in the Canadian Army.

CGM

Thank you very much for your reply, Jonathan.

You may be right about old forms being used - maybe the sudden increase in recruits made this necessary...