Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

War Grave visited in Iraq

iain mchenry

I have just been on the BBC web site and been looking at the war news. Apparently today a British officer, Lt Rob Williams, 10 Tpt Regt RLC, found his great grandfathers grave in the ruins of Basra's War Cemetary. By the sounds of the report the war cemetary had been completley trashed, with headstones pushed over and smashed. His great grandfather was L/Cpl Charles Williams (201740), Brecknock Bn, South Wales Borderers, Died of dysentery, Basra, 1916.

I'm not too good with computers and don't know how to set up a link from this thread to the BBC site. If you wish to view the report go to the BBC News site, click on "war in depth" and scroll down the page where you will find the title "Soldier finds Basra Families Grave".

If Basra War Cemetary has bee trashed like the BBC reports I suppose we are resigned to the fact that similar War Cemetaries/Monuments have been also. :angry:

What hacks me off even more is that it appears that some of the graves have been desecrated.

Iain McHenry

CWGC report today that they have no new information on the state of their sites in Iraq but say that they have already begun planning a return to the area to commence remedial action.

It seems that this situation will therefore be temporary and will be rectified in due course. CWGC always take a long term view of this type of problem as they have encountered it before elsewhere in the world.

I read recently that before the present conflict started that the CWGC have a warehouse of new headstones already in Iraq ready to start a refurbishment of cemeteries and memorials.

Hello,

I'm also interested in the state of the German war graves there. I asked the German counterpart of the CWGC if they have any information on the state of these...

Jan