Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

On Vardar LZ 85 and sailors.

Revan

Greetings,

I don't remember, if I had added this picture on the forum. I think, not.

I have this photo-postcard with LZ 85 in my collection. I think, these sailors are British (if not a mistake):

VardarLZ85_zps1f436879.jpg

Sailors1_zpsed9ce601.jpg

Sailors2_zps9d71b75b.jpg

For him, I don't know if a sailor, but I add:

Man1_zps7819954a.jpg

I add these faces, if families come here.

I'm not an expert on Navy uniforms. But, it is sure, not a French sailor on this photograph.

Regards.

Edited by Revan

I will tempt to read a name of ship on their Navy hats (I don't know words in English). But it is not sure that I can.

Hi,

I am not absolutely sure, but some could very well be members of the crew from HMS Agememnon. HMS Agememnon was credited with the destruction of the LZ85 and so it looks likely that some are from this ship.

I have attached another postcard that I believe are also members of the crew of HMS Agamemnon.

I hope this helps.

Kind regards

Ian.

post-72772-0-26374700-1364337786_thumb.j

Hello Ian,

Beautiful photograph!

Thank you.

Maybe, the same sailor with his suspender (from the Right, second on your photograph).

Regards.

Edited by Revan

Hi,