Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed to identify a medal ribbon on a photo

mark1965

Hi,

I have an old postcard photo - been in the family ages and have no idea what relationship he has to me.

I have attached a couple of scans - I know he is CSM Hemming 3/8 Worcesters and he is wearing a medal ribbon - but cannot identify it - can anyone help? Before I started spending money on records etc.

Many Thanks, Mark

CSM Hemming.pdf

CSM Hemming rev.pdf

There's just one DCM recipient with the surname of Hemming (Yeomanry) listed on Ancestry. There's also a couple of Hemming(s). May be worth checking the initials to see if they match your man (if you know them)... I suppose he couldv'e got a DCM with another regiment before transfering to the Worcesters. A check of their MIC's may shown this(?)

My money's still on QSA :)

Neil

Mark,

I'm no expert but the only probability I can see that would fit for a post 6/3/1916 photo is:

Special Reserve Long Service and Good Conduct

There are 45 Hemmings in the Worcs with Medal Cards but doesn't look like 3/8 Worcs served overseas.

Any first name or initial??

Putting the image in the post would give it more prominence.

TEW

Hi,

Do you think he looks a bit young for a QSA - also the ribbon looks possibly a bit too dark for QSA - what about a TD? although the middle bar looks a bit wider than the TD ribbon!

Hi

How about CSM 15 Arthur Hemming 8th Worc. Enlisted 1.4.08 disch. 31.3.16- termination of engagement. MIC on Ancestry says sick but pension records state otherwise. 3/8th Worc, His mother was Annie, sister Nellie.

Regards Barry

Edited by The Inspector

Hi - yes the LS&GC looks a contender but he must've been very young to get 15 years service in - thanks for the tip re image but can you tell me how to do it - cannot find any option to do it.

Thanks, Mark

Hi Mark

He was born 1880 Blockley, Worscestershire. Previous service. Was a Gardener.

Barry