Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Mystery Shoulder Title

Barry Q

A friend of mine found a collection of Canadian badges and buttons over the weekend. However, The letters "DAP" on the shoulder titles have me a little foxed . Any ideas? The shoulder title is a three line affair. The top line is the number 1. The second line contains the letters "DAP". The third line is the word "Canada" in a curve. Does anyone have any idea?

post-23-1093789573.jpg

I found the following mention of the same initials in a letter from a soldier in the medical corps writing to his family and the following item comes to mind: Divisional Aid Post.

I am no expert on Canadian items but this is my best guess.

Ralph

Here is the letter detail: Cpl. Charley Piersie, 110th DAP, Gr. Mouthairon, France, 5 Dec 1918, to Brother, Sis & Niece, Aaron C. Piersie, Kirksville, MO

Barry

I believe it to be the title for the 1st Divisional Ammunition Park C.A.S.C. I have not seen this title before however.

Best regards

N.S.Regt.

Barry,

I immediately thought Div Ammunition Park, but was unable to find an example in the Charlton catalogue of CEF Corps badges.

Hello All, The idenfication as 1 Division Ammunition Park Canadian Corps is likely correct. The RCASC history, Wait for the Waggon describes the organization of the service corps during WW1. Each division had a train and a park. The train was the supply "column" and the park was responsible for the ammunition for the division's artillery.

Barry, would it be possible to list or image the other badges found with this title? If there were CASC badges, it would support the identification.

A note in reference to the Charlton badge reference book. Like all catalogues it has omissions and errors. It is a good guideline, but doesn't include all the CEF badges, and does include a few that may be post war militia.