Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Entrenching tool

Eassierider

What have I here? I have it on reasonably reliable authority (from my father) that this has been in the family since well before WWII and in fact was brought home from France or Flanders in WW1, possibly by my great-uncle. I'm no expert on such items (to put it mildly), but I take it from its shape that the haft, at least, is German. But what about the head? Much to my chagrin, there are no markings anywhere and as you can see, it doesn't have the usual "fold-over" reinforcements on the edges. However, a quick internet search threw up the possibility that it's an 1874-pattern German spade, which has no reinforcements and has a similar arrangement to attach it to the haft. So, is it? I assume, by the way, that the serration was added by a previous owner (oh, and the spots of what looks like cement are, in fact...cement, owing to an unfortunate misuse some decades ago, which I've spent the past couple of months trying to remove).

Thanks

Chris

post-50549-0-30351000-1352320975_thumb.j

Sorry, just realised this should really be in "equipment" (unless you count it as a weapon, which I guess it could've been).

Sorry, just realised this should really be in "equipment" (unless you count it as a weapon, which I guess it could've been).

It would wield much more effectively than the British equivalent & looks like it possibly has?!!

David

Yes, it's had that interesting dent in the serrated edge for as long as I've known it, anyway. I wonder if Uncle Ted retained it for trench raids?

I've also been wondering if the head might be French. Does anyone have a pic of a French one for comparison?

The French used a tool similar to this early (19th Century to at least 1900). In fact the early French tools handles were just like this one.

French Heads usually had the reeinforcing band around the shank.