Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform Items

Jockbhoy67

Hi all, just bought this lot mid-week, I am not 100% sure everything is WW1, since i am fairly new to collecting WW1 Militaria. Can anyone tell me what i should be looking for or if these or any of them is WW1 or not? The only markings i can see are a WD stamp, several numbers and letters, there is a faint stamp with 2 arrows facing one another which was very hard to photograph, one buckle missing from the kilt, but is in remarkably good condition for WW1, which makes me think its WW2, no dates on anything, fairly sure everything is Cameron Highlanders so any help appreciated.

b99113.jpg

208fxqf.jpg

29gncdl.jpg

2vrx5cj.jpg

2rxh27l.jpg

war time kilts would be 7 yards long (pre war being 9 yards long) at I think ( without checking ) 6 shillings a yard

The kilt is indeed the 79th tartan as worn by the Cameron Highlanders. This is the only regimental tartan not based on the Government tartan. The brighter green in the sett is indicative of an issued ORs kilt. It is properly box pleated to the yellow line. Whether it is WW1, I cannot say, but these are legitimate Cameron Highlanders items.

Thank you both very much for taking time to reply, have discovered the two facing arrows indicate the kilt was sold out of service, will continue to dig around and see what i can come up with.

The kilt looks right for WW1 in terms of construction and material. The condition is not an issue. Plenty of well-preserved kit is out there. The 2 CH looks fine. The WD letters and numbers are in the right configuration, but that stamping looks a bit smaller than I would expect; this may however be due to the angle at which it was photographed. Even if it did turn out to be spurious, I still like the kilt.

The tam-o-shanter is definitely WW1.

Rgds, W.