Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Newspaper Reports on Air Raids during the Great War

jhoar

Dear all

I am a History teacher who is hoping that somebody will be able to help me locate a newspaper article on one of the Zeppelin/ Gotha Raids of the War.

My GCSE students are about to embark upon a coursework assignment in which they use primary sources to help them build a picture of the impact of Air Raids on the morale of the people at home. It would be really useful to give them a newspaper account/ reaction - but I cannot find one anywhere.

Many thanks in anticipation

Jeremy

Jeremy

If you could ping me an email via my website below I can send you some details.

Thank you all for your very speedy and extremely helpful responses - they were just what I was looking for. I shall point my students in the direction of this forum for help with their studies.

Many many thanks.

There is a local history publication "Zepplins over Lancashire" that gives a detailed account on raids in the Bolton And Wigan areas.

There are quotes from the local press mentioned so there will be archive material in the Bolton Library about the Bolton raid, which killed about a dozen civillians. I dont know Wigan's archive service but would have thoufght they may have something.

Edit Copy of "Zepplins over Lancashire" can be obtained from Waterstonesas shown below

http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/peter+j-c-+smith/zeppelins+over+lancashire/4646235/

Could also be worth including reaction to the bombardment of the East Coast in December 1914 as a 'prelude'. One thing I find interesting is that following the airship raids there's no end of humorous postcards etc making fun of the Zepps, comparing them to sausages etc, but yet to see anything regarding the Gotha/Zeppelin Staaken bomber aeroplane raids, possibly because they were a lot less obvious and a lot more deadly