Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cap Badge I.D. and any info please

AMHart

Hello everyone, I am a complete beginner at this and could really do with some help finding out more about my great granddad. I thought I would make a start with trying to find out which regiment he was in, this is the only photo I have of him with his cap on so I am sorry if it is unclear but i have tried to enlarge it as best as possible in the hope that someone can help me with some identification ... many thanks in advance.

post-92856-0-80655600-1348503299_thumb.j

post-92856-0-02437500-1348503924_thumb.j

Hampshire Regiment. In hospital 'blues' in the right hand picture (pale blue jacket, white shirt, red tie)

This looks like either Hampshire Regt or York and Lancaster Regt.

Do you have his name?

Yes his name was William Fisher and he was born abt 1898, other than the fact that he lost his leg in the war I know nothing else about him except that he met my great Grandma when he was in hospital in Moseley, Birmingham, she was a kitchen maid there.

Thank you for your help so far old owl and Staffsyeoman

Do you have their marriage cert? it may have info on it.

Of the 11 men who served with the Hampshires, 2 died, 4 list a middle name (did he have one?), 1 was a Warrant Officer and another later served with the Machine Gun Corps leaving 3 possibles if he had no middle name.

2338 later 240778 Pte William Fisher

12911 Pte William Fisher

38461 Pte William Fisher

If you check these 3 medal cards, look for Pension or Service records on Ancestry, it should narrow it down. If only the Medal Cards exist, then his will have a reference for the Silver War Badge (SWB).

Sam

Do you have their marriage cert? it may have info on it.

Of the 11 men who served with the Hampshires, 2 died, 4 list a middle name (did he have one?), 1 was a Warrant Officer and another later served with the Machine Gun Corps leaving 3 possibles if he had no middle name.