Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Youngest enlisted soldiers, UK

Guest cmctighe

Guest cmctighe

Hi all,

I'm a writer on contract to write a story about a British boy who enlists for World War I. He's 15 years old.

Now, it's fiction, so I'm willing to fudge a few little details, but I'm wondering if anyone can shed some light on boy soldiers at the time. I've been told they were allowed to serve at home if they were 15-18, 19 to go overseas. My story takes place just prior to the Christmas truce-- I understand that everything was still voluntary up until Spring 1915. Would he need parental permission to join? Would he just need to lie about his age? Any resources you can point me towards would be so greatly appreciated. I've been doing my own research, but there's really nothing like the input and knowledge from experts and enthusiasts.

Thanks for any wisdom!

Hi

Ive just type 'Underage Soldiers' into the search box at the top right of this page and found page upon page of posts relating to your question.

Hope this helps a bit.

Ray

Richard Van Emden's book Boy Soldiers of The Great War is well worth a read

If the 15 year old enlisted August/Sept 1914, he would not have saw service overseas until mid-1915 onwards. Missing the Christmas Truce.

My Grandfather Born November 1898 enlisted August 1914 as 755 Henry Conley with 7th Battalion Rifle Brigade.

Went to France with them May 1915. Wounded and sent home August 1916. Returned to France April 1918 after service in Ireland.

This probably means there were some exceptions.

Regards John C.

A boy reached man service on 18th official birthday and received a 50% pay rise 8d to 1/- per day.

The army had many boys enlisted for the Drums, Bugles, and Trumpets, and these were specifically permitted to go on active service with CO and medical officer approval. This is specifically stated in Mobilization Regs 1914.