Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte Charles Hutcheon, 1st ANZAC cyclist coy

bartensabien

My brother found an engraved 4.5 inch shell on a local flea market (in Belgium)

The shell was made for or by the Austrialian n°1704, Pte Charles Hutcheon from Rockhampton, Australia.

I would like to find out more about this men but I have no experience with researching the history of (a member of) the Australian Imperial Force.

After some googling I found his service records on recordsearch.naa.au.

But I have a few questions;

- Are the war diaries for the Australian battalions also available ? (in digital form). I would like to find out in what actions he was involved. The Shell shows Ypres, Poperinghe, France... but I would like to find more details.

- Would I be able to trace his family in Australie ? In his records I found an address in Rockhampton and an address in New Farm, Brisbane, QLD. Are there Australian website where I can look for descandants ?

Any tip on how to find more about this man are very welcome.

Bart

post-23831-0-36288300-1343771417_thumb.j

post-23831-0-86785600-1343771488_thumb.j

Hi Bart,

According to family trees on Ancestry, he married Doris Kemp on 3/11/1914 and Lillian Beatrice Dennis 10/3/1924, and died 4/6/1945 in Lutwyche, Brisbane.

The below is from The Morning Bulletin, Rockhampton,

DEATH NOTICE

HUTCHEON-At Brisbane, on June 4,

Charles Hutcheon il3th FAB 2nd A.LH 1st Alf). His remains wera interred

at tfae Lutwyche Cemetery, June 6. after Service at the Presbyterian Church, Richmond st. Kedron.

I couldn't find any mention of any direct descendants,

thank you !!

the search continues....

One day, I hope to find a picture of him.

Regards,

BArt

• Admin

Hi Bart

From the Brisbane City Council website, I have found an aerial photo of where he is buried.