Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Another ammunition query

Gary Samson

A friend of mine recently unearthed this live round in his back garden. In WWI his house was used as a convalescent home for wounded soldiers. I'm no expert on ammunition but this looks to me like a .303 round. The case markings suggest 1912 as the date of manufacture, and that's all I have really. Can you add anything else?

Gary

post-391-0-50019200-1340825631_thumb.jpg

It looks like the headstamp is "R^L 12 VII". If it is then it is a Ball Mark VII round made at Royal Laboratory, Woolwich in 1912 (as you thought).

The Ball Mark VII was introduced in 1910 and had a 174 grain spitzer bullet with a cordite charge. It remained the standard infantry cartridge until the introduction of the 7.62mm in the mid 1950s and continued until the end of the .303 round's life with the cadets in the 1980s.

Regards

TonyE

Spot on, Tony! I received a clearer image this afternoon which matches your suggestion exactly.

Many thanks

Gary

post-391-0-15706100-1340896910_thumb.jpg

I can't see from your first photo whether the bullet is in place, but it does look as though the primer has not been struck. If the bullet has not been pulled, then it looks like you have a live round, as you say. Sorry to be a pooper - it is unlawful to possess in UK without a Firearm Certificate.

It is also unlawful to remove the bullet and empty out the propellant, classed as the Illegal Modification of Ammunition. Although the law has not yet been applied to SAA to my knowledge but the strict letter and all that!

Ogilwy, that certainly used to be the case under the 1875 Explosives Act but the blessed Manufacture and Storage of Explosives Regulations 2005 allowed a saving when making/unmaking small arms ammunition, as long as the total net quantity of propellant and primer compound does not exceed 2kg.

The reference, should it be of use to you, is MSER Regulation 9