Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform Help Please

DavoT

This PPC is an addition to the collection and was seeking help to identify the origin of the uniforms worn in the picture. Many thanks in advance.

David

post-27290-0-15292500-1338714991_thumb.j

This PPC is an addition to the collection and was seeking help to identify the origin of the uniforms worn in the picture. Many thanks in advance.

David

I am not an expert but they appear to me to be Prussian Landwehr (2nd Line Reservist) soldiers of the Imperial German Army wearing their distinctive Prussian leathern peaked caps (Landwehrmütze) from early in the war.

The Landwehr was the third category of the German Army, after the regular Army and the reserves. Thus Landwehr divisions were generally made up of older soldiers who had passed from the reserves, and were intended primarily for occupation and security duties rather than heavy combat. There is a good explanation of the system here: http://greatwars-gamburd.blogspot.co.uk/2008/10/landsturm-und-landwehr-explained.html

post-599-0-35174100-1338715687_thumb.jpg

Thanks for that :thumbsup: , this could well be it. I will continue my research! My picture is is very good condition so it must have been in good hands or an album for some time to help preserve it.

The bayonets look to be 71/84's, which were commonly used by Landswehr and other reserve troops only after about 1888. Apparently they were almost completely withdrawn from service use by 1905 but then re-introduced for use by reserve troops in 1914.

The centre guy has a cross inked-in over his head, which is usually an identifying mark for a caption but as you don't say that anything is written on the back of this one I guess there is nothing there...?!

Trajan