Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform Identification

Poppy13

post-90435-0-19976000-1338550379_thumb.j

Can anyone identify and/or date this uniform please? I am a novice here and would really appreciate some help. I was told by an aged aunt that the soldier in the photo was 'X'.

After some research into his service record, I discovered 'X' to be a private in the King's Own Royal Lancaster Regiment from December 1916 (73rd training reserve battalion) until August 1917 (KORL). He appears to have been transferred to India in February 1917 (Bombay and Bangalore). He was discharged to a rest camp in August 1917 and died at home in September, aged 20.

Is it possible that 'X', given his brief service history, could have worn this uniform in 1917? Did the KORLs have mounted divisions?

I think that the soldier in the photo is of someone other than 'X' and my aged aunt has got mixed up. The photo looks like a mounted soldier as he is wearing spurs, holding a riding crop and has a horse shoe on his arm! Unfortunately, I had to crop it rather severely to make it an acceptable file size!

Please help!

The cap badge in the photo is not the KORL which is a Lion with THE KINGS OWN underneath,

The badge appears to be one of the Artillery either Royal Horse, Royal Field, or Royal Garrison( RHA,RFA or RGA

Eddie

Thanks for that Eddie, it's a great help. You've now confirmed my suspicion that the photo is not Mr 'X' of the KORL.

It looks like I've another relative to research.

Thanks again!

• Admin

Certainly Artillery, his shoulder title will tell you what he was in- can you zoom in on that? He has a badge on his sleeve too.

Michelle

He is a Shoeing Smith (qualified Farriers became Sergeants - the badge for both is a horseshoe) and also appears to be wearing an oilskin cap cover on his SD cap, presumably as a guard against inclement weather.

post-599-0-50864200-1338571465_thumb.jpg