Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Father and son medals

Adam Llewellyn

Good Day All,

I've been buying campaign medals, singles and groups for about three years now, and within that time I've only been lucky enough to get medals to men from my place of residence, Anstey Leicestershire on two occasions, the first time was on ebay and the second time was last Friday whilst visiting Loughborough market. To my surprise there were two or three stalls with medals displayed and I couldn't believe my luck when I saw a Second World War medal postal box with a Anstey address on it. The name on the box did ring a few bells and after getting the stall holders attention and asking if the box was empty I was again knock off my feet when he pointed to a set off medals which were connected to the box. After getting my feet back on the ground and first thinking that the medals must have been to the same man, it wasn't until I got home and checked the records that I realised the medals could only be to the father, First War Pair and son, Second War Pair along with a 39-45 and Burma Star, after finding the father was born in 1887. I'll mount the medals in a deep picture frame and put them on my medal wall with my other bits and pieces and will never even think about selling them on, but with the medals being what they are and me paying £90, did I get them at a very good price or what?

Regards. Llew.

Llew

All I can say is what price is a mans history and his service to his country ?

Dave

A WW1 pair would depend on who he served with (ASC, Line Regt, RFC etc)amongst other factors (officer? Casualty? etc), Full entitlement? I'd say as a guestimate £35-£55 for a non-officer and not a casualty.

Maybe £15ish fo the Burma star, plus the other three medals - £25-£30 ?

Neil

Hello Neil,