Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

incorrect ribbon for British war medal that was issued?

christipper1000@hotmail.co

hi,

I've had a single medal from Great grandmother for her father that was KIA in 1918 whilst serving the 10th Bat Lancashire fusiliers from July 1915.

here,s the odd bit......

After his death - only one medal was sent back to his family - a British war medal - However, this particular medal possesses the ribbon of the Victory medal......

the medal is 100% original and has not been messed with

I have checked his medal card and it states that he was issued the War medal but on the card where the victory medal is- there is only a few forward slash lines

I take this to mean that he wasn't warranting a Victory medal but why was he issued the ribbon....mistake?............common practice?..................blink.gif no idea!

can anyone shed any light on this????????.....mind you, if I'm being a complete newbie please forgive the ignorance!

If he served from 1915 abroad in a theatre of action and was killed in action in 1918 he would have been awarded a a 14-15 star BWM and victory . The star and the other 2 medals may have been sent seperately but they would have been sent with the correct ribbons . otherwise if killed in action in France/ Flanders (rather than died say in India) he would have a BWM and victory.

If he was killed in action in 1915 he would have been awarded a 1914 0r 14-15 star BWM and victory . The star and the other 2 medals may have been sent seperately but they would have been sent with the correct ribbons .

No, he was out in France from July 1915 and KIA August 31st 1918

Card only mentions one medal!blush.gif

Without seeing the card, his name and service number would be useful, I would assume the "few forward slash lines" are actually ditto marks and that he was awarded the Victory Medal too.