Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Italian prisoners of war

gunjiyubin

I am studying the development of Prisoner-of-War camps in the Great War and have acquired a card sent by an Italian POW back to Italy dated 1918 from Oswiecim, which as you know was renamed Auschwitz in WW2. I cannot find any references to the existence of a POW camp at Oswiecim not can I ascribe any reason as to why an Italian soldier would be imprisoned there. Any comments or assistance would be most welcome.

Given that Italy and the KuK were at war and Oswiecim was in Austrian Galicia finding an Italian POW there does not seem that unlikely. I believe that POWs were used as labour in the oil fields in Austrian Galicia

Do you know the name of the POW or any others informations? I can control italian archives

Pierluigi

Given that Italy and the KuK were at war and Oswiecim was in Austrian Galicia finding an Italian POW there does not seem that unlikely. I believe that POWs were used as labour in the oil fields in Austrian Galicia

That is helpful information, and rather more than I had found by the usual (Google) searches. With the overwhelming focus on Oswiecim during WW2 it is difficult to unearth any sensible information about WW1, but this is a useful start. Thank you.

Thank you for your response. The name on the card is difficult to read but I can send pictures of the card if you are willing to let me have your e-mail address.

I am studying the development of Prisoner-of-War camps in the Great War and have acquired a card sent by an Italian POW back to Italy dated 1918 from Oswiecim, which as you know was renamed Auschwitz in WW2. I cannot find any references to the existence of a POW camp at Oswiecim not can I ascribe any reason as to why an Italian soldier would be imprisoned there. Any comments or assistance would be most welcome.