Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

British Naval Insignia

BottsGreys

Can anyone shed light on the rank of the gent below? Could he be a midshipman?

Thanks so much,

Chris

post-23-1090872058.jpg

I`m sure you`ll get the correct answer from the ex-matelot members, but he looks like a "Wavy Navy" sub-lieutenent to me. Phil B

he looks like a "Wavy Navy" sub-lieutenent to me.

Agreed [Wavy Navy = RNR] but why no loop?

Expert advice needed here

Regards

Michael D.R.

Oops; pardon my slip

RNR has a double twist of sleeve lace

RNVR has a single

But still none the wiser re why no loop

Looking forward to correction here

Regards

Michael D.R.

Example below;

RNR on left and RNVR on right

[pic from IWM]

post-23-1090904801.jpg

Edited by michaeldr

I'm not a Naval expert by any means, but a faint memory makes me think that doesn't it suggest a 'Commissioned Warrant' ? I had a WW1/WW2 set of medals to a Warrant Gunner and this was how it was explained.

The other thing that points from this picture, is that there seems to be a circlet around the anchor (which usually carry lettering and aren't regular Navy); might this be a clue? Did the RNVR have a circlet around in WW1? Not sure...

Originally only Executive Officers had a curl on the upper ring of thier stripes ; Non-Executive Officers wore just plain straight stripes without the "executive" curls. I am not sure, however, when this tradition finished and all Officers had the curl. The stripe also looks thin enough to be that of a Warrant Officer

Steve

Could he be a midshipman?

Chris,

A Midshipman wore patches on his jacket collar as seen below in the pic of Mountbatten.

I think that Phil is heading in the right direction on this one and that a closer examination of the cap badge is required to determine if it is RN or not

Regards

Michael D.R.

post-23-1090909536.jpg