Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Opinions please on what this hat is!

steve fuller

Hi there

Gotta bit of a family thing going on here and wondered if anyone can help me avoid imminent bloodshed! :blink:

Could anyone please advise if the attached hat is likely to be a "Dragoon's" hat? Sorry, but I have no knowledge in this area and the books I have give no help!

Thanks everyone

Steve

post-23-1090858764.jpg

Steve - is the photo 19teens-ish? I'm no expert either, but it looks a litle like an old-fashioned fireman's helmet!!

Looks like a Ladies/Girls straw hat with some decoration* on it????,Circa 1910~20s

* Possibly "Dads" Cap Badge?

Looks like a Ladies/Girls straw hat with some decoration* on it????,Circa 1910~20s

* Possibly "Dads" Cap Badge?

Spot on!!! This style survived into the 1930's. Watch any Charlie Chaplin film (apart from Monsier Verdoux and The Great Dictator!!! :blink: ) and look at the background people. You'll likely see several of this style hat.

Definately not military, anyway.

Dave.

Thanks everyone. Ive been in the Straw Hat Brigade for years now but there are some who insist its a Dragoons Helmet.

All good fun! Cheers

Steve

some who insist its a Dragoons Helmet.

Maybe the Gay Hussar rather than a Dragoon.

some who insist its a Dragoons Helmet.

"I'm Free!!" :lol:

:D Sounds like a play! U sure the divisional concert parties didnt perform it?! Being charged by a Gay Hussar, with flowing pink feathers in his hat doesnt instill 'bowel loosening fear' does it! Conjures up an interesting picture though. Squadrons of pink feathers bouncing in neat lines accross no mans land ...

:D Sounds like a play! U sure the divisional concert parties didnt perform it?! Being charged by a Gay Hussar, with flowing pink feathers in his hat doesnt instill 'bowel loosening fear' does it! Conjures up an interesting picture though. Squadrons of pink feathers bouncing in neat lines accross no mans land ...