Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lee Enfield or not?

DCLI

Not being very knowledgeable about small arms - what is this rifle? It doesn't look like a LE. Pic taken at Catterick in either 1914 or 1915.

regards

Anthony Farrar

post-23-1090323300.jpg

No expert here but I think this is the Lee-Enfield Magazine Rifle Mark I, or as it was also known, the "Magazine Lee-Enfield" (MLE) which was introduced in about 1895. This was the rifle often given to recruits in training, while the factories struggled to increase production to meet the increased need for the SMLE.

Tom

Hi,

I'm not an expert but...

Possibly a Lee Metford rifle, the preceeding weapon of choice for the British Army.

Used during the Sudan Campaign of the late 1890's for example.

- bolt action by Lee, hence the resemblance to the later Lee Enfield.

BUT - I could be wrong - my knowledge here is rusty, so I would happily be corrected - there was a P14 suggested as a replacement for the Lee Enfield at one point, but the war prevented its widespread use - I've never seen an image of it, so there is the possibility it could be the P14.

However - I'd go with Lee Metford.

rgds

doogal

Guest Graham McInnes

I could not tell the difference between a Lee Metford and a Lee Enfield without looking down the barrel but the photo is one or the other.

If you want to see an image of a P14 there's a whole platoon of them on TV in Dads Army. Made in USA for the British Army in .303 calibre none had arrived until late 1915. When USA joined the war the calibre was changed to .30 and production continued for training soldiers. These ended up in the UK in 1940 and were issued to the Home Guard as well as the .303 version.