Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cap Badge

chrislotr

Dear all,

I am fairly new to all this WW1 reseach, what I have found out is that my Grandfather was in the Machine Gun Corps during the war. What I would like to know is, can authentic cap badges of the MGC still be bought. If so, does anyone know of a genuine dealer and roughly how much would one cost. I live in Hertfordshire.

Regards Chris

Chris,

The only advice I can give is to check out the militia auctions in or around your area, I`m sorry I don`t live in the UK but I source my badges from a supplier over there called S R S.

You could also try ebay or similar over there, in NZ we have a site called "Trade me.co.nz" and quite often there are original badges for sale.

The details for the supplier I use is S R S Surplus,P O Box 113,South Shields, NE34 6WZ, www.srsbadges.co.uk.

I purchased this MGC cap badge not long ago and it`s sometimes hard to tell the originality from a re strike, check it out , good luck !

Dave.B

Chris,

As one of the MGC types around here, would love to hear more about your grandfather if you're willing to share. I'm part of a team putting an MGC history together (I think building the pyramids was less complicated!), and Jim Parker, the man without equal on MGC soldiers, is on side with us. The MGC OCA, despite there being only one known surviving Emma Gee still with us, thrives and is a friendly bunch.

There are original MGC badges still to be had, but the majority cropping up on the internet are duff. (Strangely, though, originals still crop up mainly from Canada, as the Canadian MGC had many patterns of cap badge, but one the same as our MGC was one of them).