Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

47th Div patch

Tim P

As a ww2 enthusiast I am aware of badging practices on battledress but as a complete ww1 novice I am a little in the dark about insignia protocals which seem to range from nothing to a bewildering array of shapes and strips and patches. My primary question is, was the insignia of the 47th Division worn as an arm patch and if so,would two red BoS strips be worn beneath it to denote the second brigade?

The Divisonal patch was not worn on the jacket by 47th (London) Division. See the following:

47th (2nd London) Division – formation signs and insignia

When the Division went to France in 1915, the Divisional sign was used as a convenient recognition symbol for MT vehicles. Apparently the star was chosen by the OC 47th Divisional Supply Column, as representing a simplified version of the Army Service Corps badge. The edging of the square was colour coded as follows: Blue for Divisional Troops, Yellow for 140th Brigade group, Green for 141st Infantry Brigade group, and Red for the 142nd Brigade group.

In November 1915 Divisional Trains were ordered to mark their vehicles with the same sign as the 47th Divisional Supply Column. The sign was modified so it could be painted on the side of GS wagons, the colour of the border still indicating the Brigade Company of the Train to which the vehicle belonged.

During the winter of 1916 the marks or signs peculiar to Divisional Trains were painted by order of GHQ on all vehicles of the Division. Variations for Brigades were not allowed so the blue border previously used by only the Divisional Troops was extended to the whole Division.

The Infantry signs, in coloured felt, were worn by all ranks on both arms, about 4" from the shoulder strap seam as follows:

140 Brigade Yellow Heart, 6th London. Yellow Diamond, 7th London. Yellow Club, 8th London. Yellow Spade, 15th London.