Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

182nd Brigade, RFA, A Battery, - What information?

Guest JohnnyCanuck

Guest JohnnyCanuck

I'm trying to find out more on the 182nd Brigade, RFA, of which my grandfather was a member. Gunner Victor Buccini, 36019, enlisted on 7 July 1915 (at the age of 16), and was stationed with this brigade at Fulham. In September they went to camp at Borden, and embarked for France in February, 1916, arriving on the 17th of that month. I'd be most appreciative of any information anyone can provide on this unit, and also whether anyone knows if the RFA has an archive, which might include serving members records? His younger sister, in her recollections for a family history, stated that he had been mentioned in dispatches. I'm new to researching British Military records - for service records, or regimental and brigade histories. Any pointers would be great. Thanks!

The 56th. [1st. London] Div., Artillery [i, II and III Bdes,] concentrated in Jan, and were attached to the 16th. [irish] Div., at Bordon, from 1st. Jan, - 25th. Feb, 1916:

They disembarked at Le Harve on 19th Feb, 1916 and joined the 16th. [irish] Div., on 22nd. Feb,.

On 2nd. Feb, 1916 the Bde., was reorganized. ‘D’ Bty., was transferred and became ‘C’ Bty., 77th. [LXXVII] Bde., and ‘B’ [H] Bty., [LXXVII] Bde., joined and became ‘D’ [H] Bty., of the Bde.

On 27th. Aug, 1916 the 182nd. [CLXXXII] Bde,. was broken up. ‘D’ [H] Bty., joined and became ‘C’ [H] Bty., 77th. [LXXVII] Bde.,

One section of ‘A’ Bty., joined and made up ‘A’ Bty.,177th. [CLXXVII] Bde.,

One section of ‘B’ Bty., joined and made up ‘B’ Bty., 177th. [CLXXVII] Bde.,

One section of ‘B’ Bty., joined and made up ‘C’ Bty., 177th. [CLXXVII] Bde.,

One section of ‘C’ Bty., joined and made up ‘B’ Bty., 180th. [CLXXX] Bde.,

One section of ‘C’ Bty., joined and made up ‘C’ Bty., 180th. [CLXXX] Bde.,

Arthur

Error with information sent earlier. Faulty section should have read: