Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Siege Parks

Peridot

Hi All

I am studying an officer's service record to whom my grandfather was Batman. There are two undated entries on the record which read as follows: "H" Corps Siege Park (323 SBAC, List No.......) and "X" Corps Siege Park (12 SBAC, List No........)

I understand that a Siege Park establishment was small and comprised about 40 men, which was probably an HQ.

My query is what did the rest of the Siege Park comprise of, and was there a constant movement of men and Batteries in and out of the Park ? Alternatively did the constitution of the Batteries within the Siege Park remain constant, which would exlain the apparent attachment of men as Ammunition Columns to particular Batteries as outlined in the officer's entries above?

Is this a correct interpretation of what these entries mean?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Peridot

Thanks David-I have seen that reply before-what's confusing me I think is the mention of a Corps Siege Park in the Service Record and then in brackets, a particular SBAC within it, as if the Batteries within the Park remained constant-I was under the impression, certainly from the condensed history of IX Corps Siege Park (717 ASC Co) which I have read, that the numbers of men and constituent Batteries were constantly changing. Very confusing!!

Peridot

Peridot,

I think we will have to wait until someone more knowledgeable (not very hard) than me can fully answer your question. A quick google does not bring up anything of importance and Farndale's book on the

Royal Regiment of Artillery doesn't give a mention of Siege Parks. I sometimes think he was more interested in getting the names of the CO's correct.

Cheers