The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Wounded at Gallipoli 1915-9th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment

stuannmc

Hi,

I am hoping someone can help me.

I am researching my Grandfather, Samuel(Sam)Taylor. He was in the 9th Battalion West Yorkshire Regt.

He was wounded by a sniper 2 Sept 1915 at Gallipoli.

He returned home to England 8 October 1915. I would like to try and trace his whereabouts from when he was injured until

his return home to England. Including any time spent in Hospital ships or hospitals home and abroad.

I have copies of his Service records which unfortunately give no indication as to where he was after being injured.

I would appreciate any input.

Thankyou,

Ann

(Melbourne, Aust)

Hi Ann,

I am a bit of a novice in this area. However, I had a Gt Uncle who was also wounded about the same time and he was with the 8th Battalion, The Duke of Wellingtons, West Riding Regiment who along with the 9th WYR from memory were part of the 11th Northern Division when they landed at Sulva Bay.

I am going from memory as I am away from my research at the moment, however when I get back (hopefully tomorrow) I will have a better look for you.

Regards

Andy

Thanks Andy.

Any help would be very much appreciated. I am also a novice at this.

What I am trying to find out is what my Grandfathers movements were from when he was injured until his return home to England(approx 1 month). I would also like to try and find out more about his injury and how he was treated.

Thanks again,

Ann

Hello Ann

Four men were wounded on this date, 2nd September 1915, whilst improving trenches.

Snipers and artillery in this sector at this period are very active.

Best wishes.

Chris.

Thankyou Chris.

Would you know how to find out which hospital he was moved to?

Thanks again, Ann.

Hi Ann,