Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Finding my Grandfathers grave after 88 yrs

martin Durcan

Hi All,

I am new to GWF and would really appreciate any help I could get in tracking down the records about where my Grandfather would have served.

I would like to attach photos, and will do when I have them pulled together.

I recently posted photos and some of the story up on my facebook, and the reaction to the story has been amazing, one friend from the UK, now living in Ireland contacted me to tell me all her family are buried in the same small Cheriton Road Cemetery graveyard, another dear friend Sue whom we met when diving abroad years ago, told me she passed the graveyard going to school every day as a child.... how many degrees of separation is there really between any of us?

I hope it may stir memories of others, and that I could possibly find out more about my Grandfather,

JOHN THOMAS DURKIN FOUND AFTER 88 YEARS 2ND APRIL 2011.

DETECTIVE SERGEANT SCOTLAND YARD

INTELLIGENCE CORPS & ROYAL FUSILIERS WW1

I have photos that show the culmination of a journey that I have wanted to do for over 40 yrs. Our Granddad John Thomas Durkin died in 1923 as a result of his wounds in WW1 where he served with the Royal Fusiliers attached to the Intelligence corps.

In one of the photos you will see Granddads' wedding notice on the right, it details that Granddad was the first person in the UK to volunteer for service, as he was a Detective Sergeant in CID Scotland Yard as close protection for King George the Fifth and Prime Minister.

He did this 10 hours after war was declared on August 4th 1914, his attestation form showing he signed up on the 5th August

He was sent shortly after to the front in France and served in the Intelligence Corps, where he fought in Mons and other tragic battles until he was wounded and returned home in 1917.

Recently Fiona and my niece Sheena tracked down where he was buried.