Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unusual Medals

barrieduncan

I came across this interesting medal group while looking through some post-war photographs. The first three are quite easy; 1914 Star with clasp, British War Medal, and Victory Medal with m.i.d. emblem. The other two aren't quite so easy - anyone care to have a crack at them? When I first saw the photo I was at a complete loss and was going to post it here and ask for help. I've since figured out what they are (at least I think I have), but thought I'd still post them and see if anyone recognises them...I certainly didn't!

post-9547-0-66681500-1304695612.jpg

Could that be a Medaille Militaire?

John

The last medal is King Faisal's War Medal (Iraq Active Service Medal 1924 - 38). The other medal is certainly French, but not a Medaille Militaire. It has the appearance of one of the French Campaign/Colonial Medals but I am far from an expert on French medals.

Hope this helps

Sepoy

The last medal is King Faisal's War Medal (Iraq Active Service Medal 1924 - 38)....

About half way down the page, centre, with the green striped ribbon:

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:yHVK8x2wGtsJ:www.royalark.net/Iraq/iraq5.htm+king+faisals+war+medal&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=uk&source=www.google.co.uk

The other medal is certainly French, but not a Medaille Militaire. It has the appearance of one of the French Campaign/Colonial Medals but I am far from an expert on French medals.

It certainly looks like the French Colonial Medal, especially given the presence of a clasp. Ex-French Foreign Legion? Certainly enough rough-and-tumble in French North Africa through the 1920s.