Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What Enfield should I buy?

matt1992

Hi everyone. I am considering purchasing a deactivated Enfield rifle but as I am fairly new to this sort of thing thought I would get some advise first. I would like to get the rifle to match the P-1907 bayonet that I recently posted about but am not entirely sure which one I should be looking at. I'm thinking the Lee Enfield No.1 is the way to go. If this is the right one then please could I have some identification tips. Has anyone got any pictures of the correct rifle. Also is the 48 page Skennerton "Buyer's guide to the Lee-enfield" any good? It may help when I'm out looking.

Wow, I think you just answered any question I could have possibly thought of. Thanks chris I appreciate your help. We are going to an antique fair at Newark on Friday so will keep an eye out there.

Thanks again

Matthew

TA DAAAAA! CLICKETY CLICK HERE

Hope this helps.

Chris

Cheers Matthew, I had thought about a real one but decided against it for practicality reasons but thanks anyway.

Regards

Matthew

Get a real one not a deac! If you are close enough get down to the forthcoming Open Day at Bisley and see what its all about!

National Rifle Day Open Day

A friend of mine picked up a cracking example last week – 1916 dated Lithgow with volley sights and mag cut-off. The butt has 1915 markings and there is no piling swivel, but other than that the metalwork and furniture are top notch. £280 incl an ammo pack (from a dealer) – it’s a 303 smoothbore shotgun conversion.

If you have a shotgun cert or FAC then live examples are definitely worth looking at – though you have the obvious problem of not being able to display it.

Tom