Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Just got an SMLE

stephen p nunn

Just had a bit of a shock tonight. A rich mate of mine (who needs to remain nameless!) has just given me an SMLE!!! He knows how interested I am in the Great War and knew that I had a 1907 pattern bayonet (with a 1916 issue date) but wanted an SMLE to go with it. Anyway I have been searching for a decent de-activated version but he got there before me!. So I am looking for some kind experts to tell me about this or point me in the right direction if you don't mind. This is what I can see on it so far:

G.R.

B.S.A.Co.

SHT.L.E.

III*

and elsewhere:

I

There is no brass disc but carved into one side is:

FR

and on the other side:

BO

X

I am particularlly interested in these latter marks so that I might identify a regiment?

Thanks for all your help. Sorry if this post is bit basic but I am still learning about the SMLE and, quite frankly, am a bit stunned by receiving this fantastic gift (complete with certificate of de-activation which reads "Rifle, Enfield. .303" x 2.75" Barrel length 24"

Thanks all.

SPN

Maldon

Well Done Maldon and congratulations on your new baby...

I'm no expert (there should be one along shortly :whistle: ) but I posted a similar query to yours some time ago about my .22 version and I was advised to gently prise off upwards (carefully please!) the wooden hand guard in front of the bolt and behind the sight and examine the marks on the barrel proper which is revealed when you remove it.

Enjoy.

Dave

This might help get you started:

The markings on the right of the wrist indicate it is a 1918 made SMLE MkIII* produced by Brimingham Small Arms (who made SMLEs up until 1944)

the MkIII* was a wartime production variant with several simplifications (no magazine cut-off, non windage adjustable rear sights etc) the standard infantry rifle of the British Army after 1916.