Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

a couple of beginner's questions

Socrates2004

Greetings, all.

I am a newbie, not only to medal-collecting, but to trying to learn about WWI. I have no formal training in history (minus the obligatory basic college classes) but am interested in becoming something of a history buff, particularly when it comes to this war. I learn much better when I'm involved in a related activity, rather than just sitting down and reading books--though I plan to do that, as well. I was recently at the Louvre Antique Mall, and ran across a store selling old military medals, and it occurred to me that this would be the perfect activity for me to use to educate myself.

I have a few medals that I either got at the Louvre, or as Christmas gifts from my parents when I told them I was interested in this hobby. I have a French Legion d'Honneur (Chevalier), French Fighter Cross, and Belgian Order of Leopold. I also have what I've found is a very common grouping, of the British War Medal, Interallied Victory Medal, and the 1914-1915 Star, all from the same soldier.

Although I am an American, I would like to focus my collection on Europe (at first, anyway), in part because most of the war was fought without American assistance and also because I understand Britain is the only country that put the soldier's names on the medals (please correct me if this is not the case).

I have two basic questions, that I'm hoping someone can help me with:

1.) The name of the soldier on my British grouping is S/Sjt G.M. Muller Cradock CDO--except for the 1914-1915 Star, which says M.G. Muller Cradock CDO, for some reason. I have tried finding him in the medal rolls online and have been unable to find an exact match, although there are a couple that are close. Simply searching on Google doesn't help either. Firstly, what does "CDO" stand for? If I can't find him in the medal roll, what is another way I might try?