Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Trench Map Lindenhoek and Kemmel - Peckham

Woody

I am trying to track down a trench map for the area to the East of Kemmel in which the 1/7th Notts and Derbys were

in April - June 1915. I have recently purchased the Belgium Maps - Linesman - Memory Map, but cannot find a map

of the correct period (earliest one seems to be 1916). There is a map in the 1/7th Official History.

Perhaps there are no other maps available. The map referencing appears to be 28 SW2

I am fairly new to tracking down Trench Maps, so forgive me for any obvious stupidity !

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Woody

There is a small hand drawn map in Paul Reed's "Walking the Salient", which shows the Sherwood Foresters on the left flank of the 1/5th Lincs Batt,

this is in front of where Spanbroekmolen appears on later maps....

I've drawn a line of the approx position shown on the map in Paul's book....

(section of map from "Linesman")

regards

Tom

post-5284-013843700 1294065518.jpg

This is a photo of the Notts/Derby area taken last month from Spanbroekmolen mine crater entrance

Tom

post-5284-099483600 1294068934.jpg

I am trying to track down a trench map for the area to the East of Kemmel in which the 1/7th Notts and Derbys were

in April - June 1915. I have recently purchased the Belgium Maps - Linesman - Memory Map, but cannot find a map

of the correct period (earliest one seems to be 1916). There is a map in the 1/7th Official History.

Perhaps there are no other maps available. The map referencing appears to be 28 SW2

I am fairly new to tracking down Trench Maps, so forgive me for any obvious stupidity !

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Woody

Woody,

Do you have the full LinesMan Trench Map product, or have you only bought the Belgian modern backdrop?

Just wondered

Guy

Tom

Thanks very much for taking the time to reply and for the excellent photo.